Into the system…

blogging, work, mental health, therapy, disability, benefits and more…

the difficulty of wanting to stay anonymous…

with 3 comments

I want to write about the last six weeks… but then I’m scared that those close to me, who already know the story, would be able to identify me. Although it wouldn’t be new to them, I’d be scared that it will make it very difficult for me to be completely, utterly honest and I’d be scared that my anonymity would be at risk.

Then again, I have so much difficulty in talking to them, maybe by writing here I will be able to open up more freely. There are some people it wouldn’t matter if they read this and recognise me, some other people I’d actually want them to read this just so they could understand better, but then I also worry what long-term repercussions might come out of revealing my identity to the wider world.

I guess if I’m going to blog, I need to get over that.

I’m still struggling to find a point from which to start. I have so much written and so much to say, but something holds me back. I don’t know why. I want to write for myself, not really for others, so this shouldn’t stop me but somehow it still does.

Over the last day or two I’ve noticed a few people are coming here and seeing what I have to say. No doubt they will see this is very little so far and will go away again, but I do hope one day someone might find this at least a little bit interesting. I’m guessing these people have started to come because I’ve been commenting on other blogs using this ID and not the name I used to sign under. If you are one of those people, I just want to say “Hi”.

EDIT: p.s. I’ve updated the about page a little.

Written by intothesystem

Thursday, 19th June 2008 at 4:17 pm

Posted in Into the system...

Tagged with ,

3 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I think the key to annonymity is making sure that noone comes through a Google search for their own name or their company name (etc). If you don’t name names or say exactly where you live, I’d imagine it would be alright.

    Chouette

    Friday, 20th June 2008 at 12:26 pm

  2. Hi, saw your comment on another blog I read and thought I’d wander over. I’m the same, I can say a lot more on an anonymous blog than I could as me. And I think Chouette is right, just leave out the names and all should be well. And I wouldn’t worry about what you write either – if it’s cathartic for you it’s probably going to interest other people (whether you think about it or not). Looking forward to seeing what you write!

    The Chuckle

    Friday, 20th June 2008 at 1:48 pm

  3. You wondered whether what you are writing is of interest to anyone ? You know perhaps it isn’t always a guide how many comments you get here. I have read several of your entries but so much is buzzing in my head and so much of what you are saying is stirring up comments that I would like to make but then again I am one of those people who take a while to “compost” things. I think there are probably quite a few others who are reading your entries and feeling the same.

    A lot of what you are writing is more than interesting – it resonates with a lot of people I think. You are just putting things more articulately perhaps ( or maybe you just have more courage) .

    I can understand your trust issues which makes your opening up here doubly courageous. Just from what I have read so far, I think your trust has been abused somewhat already by people who may have been trying to help but who have “gone over your head” etc.

    Please keep writing this journal? Certainly I think it will be helpful for you but you know it will be helpful also I think for others “out there in cyberspace” who are reading this too. It’s that ripple in the pond thing. You just drop in your pebble and you never really know what effect it is having but if just one person is helped by what you are writing. . . .

    Lil

    Monday, 23rd June 2008 at 4:45 pm


Leave a Reply

