Into the system…

blogging, work, mental health, therapy, disability, benefits and more…

All over the place…

with 3 comments

…is how I feel today.

Last night I got very little sleep. I was fidgety, so much so, my other half sent me to the spare room. I couldn’t sleep, so sat up and tried to read. I managed to settle into my book eventually and I read for a few hours, but when I stopped I still couldn’t settle down and sleep. It was getting light before I was even asleep, but I was awake again before my other half got up for work.

My mood is still mixed. Both up and bouncy, irritable and agitated, sad and low. I’m not sure how you can feel all those things at once, or at least within quick succession of each other, but it seems you can.

I seem to be experiencing a strange side effect of the medication, or at least that’s what I assume it is. Since yesterday, I’ve felt like there is a ball of cotton wool wedged at the back of my throat, making it sore and dry. There isn’t, my tonsils seem fine and I don’t have any other signs of a cold so I don’t think I’m imagining it. I looked at the fluoxetine leaflet and dry mouth and sore throat are both listed, so I’m going to blame it on that for now, unless it does turn into a cold or tonsillitis during the next few days. It’s frustrating though. Not particularly painful, just there and annoying. When you’re irritable anyway, you don’t need something niggling away. Swallowing isn’t exactly comfortable either.

Aside from that I’m struggling to do anything much, yet getting annoyed that I’m so bored. I don’t really know what to do with myself. I want to do things, but then I don’t because I can’t concentrate and get frustrated too easily. I find myself flitting from thing to thing but settling on nothing.

A classic example of this, seems to be the fact that I can’t seem to bring myself to write any more right now. I don’t know what to say and am bored of myself already. I’ll try again soon.

EDIT: There is actually more I want to write about! That’s another problem. My Short term memory and attention span is terrible at the moment. What I have to write about is too long and complex for me to work out right now. It involves HR, liability, suicide and other things, but it isn’t clear in my head. Maybe later.

Written by intothesystem

Thursday, 7th August 2008 at 6:26 pm

3 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Prozac caused me to feel almost the same to the point I came off it and never went back on! I hope you are not coming down with anything to serious!

    Alison

    Thursday, 7th August 2008 at 9:37 pm

  2. I hate when it gets like that. Back and forth, back and forth like Goldie locks in search of something just right. Med changes are hard!

    Catatonic Kid

    Friday, 8th August 2008 at 7:46 am

  3. The northern summer is always a quiet period in the blogosphere – people must be outside enjoying the weather or something.

    James

    Saturday, 9th August 2008 at 5:26 pm


Leave a Reply

