Into the system…

blogging, work, mental health, therapy, disability, benefits and more…

Awards Season…

with 5 comments

I tried to write yesterday, but gave up. I can’t put into words the things going through my mind at the moment. I might try again later.

Instead, how about a bit of distraction?

I have been meaning to do this since the lovely Chuckle and Em (Eccedentesiast (did I spell that right?!)) nominated me, but things haven’t gone as planned. Better late than never though, eh?

Like Em, I’ve decided to shrug off the rules and in line with keeping my blog “graphically sparse”, I’m definitely leaving out the ugly award picture! I’ve also given up trying to limit to five and unlike Chuckle and Em, I’ve even given up limiting it to six!

So what follows is a few words about some of my favourite blogs. Like the others, I could have easily written about all of my blogroll and perhaps soon I will add to this, but for now here are a few. If I have left you off, I’m sorry. I really do think that every one of my blogroll and no doubt many other blogs aside, are worthy of awards.

Anyway. Without further ado. I present the awards (in alphabetical order!):

Action Replay – Dee may be older and wiser than me, but I see a lot of myself in her writing. The corporate IT and financial services background and her frantic need to be busy are things I identify with strongly. Her mental health history is an added dimension and I enjoy just reading about her day to day life.

Coloured Mind – Hannah makes me realise just how small this world is. Put it this way: we’ve shared a few coincidences. Her writing is fantastic; honest and interesting. Oh and she loves Jelly – I hate it, but the way she can write about it makes me want to like it.

Eccedentesiast – Troubled (Okay, we’re all troubled here), but fascinating; I enjoy reading about Em. Local girl, so I see bits of my history dotted through her writing. Skilled with words, she can make anything sound poetic. I worry about her though (again, I worry about everyone here).

Life of Chuckles – His words on therapy sum up a lot of my feelings about the matter. He is clearly a great bloke and I thank him for his continued kindness and support. Oh and he’s a designer – never a bad thing!

Simple Harmonic Muddle – I have found myself in a similar place to Chouette, at a similar time and I think that’s what makes her writing special. I see my thoughts on the page ahead of me. A physicist; clever and articulate.

The Exact Science – One of the first mental health blogs I started reading, the Exact Science can be a rollercoaster of a read. I may not know him, but I feel that I do and I hope he can hold on for the ride.

The Secret Life… – Finally, the queen of the mental health blogging world. Seaneen is the reason I read all of these blogs. She resides in the centre of a whole community, that I never dreamed existed before I stumbled across her corner of the internet. For that I am thankful. Her writing is still some of the best I’ve ever read and I really do hope that her thoughts will be published eventually.

Written by intothesystem

Thursday, 7th August 2008 at 4:11 pm

5 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. See, now I’m all shy and blushing – thanks ITS

    The Chuckle

    Thursday, 7th August 2008 at 5:18 pm

  2. ^^^ Ditto. My face is red. Thankyou xxx

    eccedentesiast

    Friday, 8th August 2008 at 8:18 pm

  3. Thank you! :D

  4. It seems this blushing is contagious. Thank you. X

    colouredmind

    Saturday, 9th August 2008 at 1:47 am

  5. Ta muchly. It’s just a ride

    exactscience

    Monday, 11th August 2008 at 7:41 am


Leave a Reply

