Into the system…

blogging, work, mental health, therapy, disability, benefits and more…

No Veins…

with 3 comments

I had to have my blood taken today, but we can safely say I have really crap veins. It took multiple attempts to get the tiniest amount of blood. I’m having the tests to check my platelet count has improved and also to check my thyroid. It seems my last test showed slight hypothyroidism and Dr G wants to check again before she gets the thyroxine out. I’m not sure how I feel about it. I know it may affect my weight and mood, but I’m not sure if it’s just a bit of an excuse. I guess we will see.

Aside from that it seems Dr G has been talking to the ward doctor, Dr C about me and they’ve decided I need extra support when I leave the ward. They want to work with the NHS and refer me to the CHMT. Dr G says I need regular support. She says in the past the NHS trust I come under has been good when she’s had to work with them, so fingers crossed. Also, she wants to refer me for some long term psychodynamic therapy which could be interesting. It’s assuring that she is thinking about what I need after the ward this time.

I had some upsetting news today. Someone that was in when I was here the first time died last week of alcohol poisoning. She just couldn’t stay off the drink even with the help here. It’s sad. I hate that I’m jealous of her, which feels disrespectful, but I can’t help it. I still wish I was dead. I wish it was me, not her. I hate this world. It’s too unfair.

Written by intothesystem

Thursday, 9th April 2009 at 9:57 pm

3 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Glad you’re not dead x

    eccedentesiast

    Friday, 10th April 2009 at 12:32 am

  2. Mum had really crap veins all her life, it was a nightmare trying to get blood out of her and you can imagine the amount of blood tests she had to have over the years. It’s good Dr G is checking things out for you thought and it sounds like she has some support plans in order for when you leave.

    Sorry to hear about your friend. Take care x

    Alison

    Friday, 10th April 2009 at 9:46 am

  3. I’m glad they are liaising with cmht. Big Dublin Hospital just discharged me and that was that.

    DeeDee Ramona

    Friday, 10th April 2009 at 9:39 pm


Leave a Reply

