Into the system…

blogging, work, mental health, therapy, disability, benefits and more…

Creative Remedies…

with 3 comments

So I started at Creative Remedies today in the performing arts group. There was an interesting mix of people and an awful lot of staff. It was the first week after the summer break and there was a new tutor and some new staff so no one seemed to know what was going on at first. We started with singing, which I enjoyed. I’ve sung a lot in the past so felt at home doing the breathing exercises and warm up. This was followed by some movement and yoga stretching, which was far more energetic that I’d expected. I was falling out of my top, so know to wear something with a little more covering next time! Overall the session was okay, but I’m not sure how helpful it is going to be. It kept me distracted for a couple of hours and got me out I guess.

Friday and Saturday were days of cooking. We made some nice platters to take along to the wedding. Pink Swirly Meringues and Mars Bar Cakes on one, Goats Cheese and Red Onion Rolls and Pizza Fingers on another. I also made gingerbread biscuits and my bloke made coleslaw and potato salad with his own mayo. The meringues and mars bar cakes were especially popular. The reception was nice and relaxed. It was lovely to see the brides and there was an impressive buffet. We left fairly early though as we didn’t know many people and we were flagging a little.

Yesterday, my bloke’s mum, sister and boyfriend came up. It was the sister-in-law-to-be’s birthday on Saturday so I made a cake and we had dinner. I always find visits from the in-laws stressful and this was no exception. I was ready to hide by time they left and we had an early night.

Tomorrow I see Dr G. I’m glad. It’s been a while since I’ve seen her and I need input. Things have not been good since I last saw her and I hope she will have some suggestions. We will see anyway.

Written by intothesystem

Monday, 14th September 2009 at 8:35 pm

3 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Oh Mars Bar Cakes you’re making me hungry… Glad the wedding went okay…

    Creative Remedies sounds okay… Yoga is supposed to be relaxing but I’ve heard it’s also tiring and takes a lot of energy out of you.

    I hope your appointment goes okay tomorrow with Dr G. Take care of yourself x

    Alison

    Monday, 14th September 2009 at 8:49 pm

  2. Glad you enjoyed creative remedies, it sounds fun; can I come?!

    Good luck with Dr G x

    Kate

    Tuesday, 15th September 2009 at 10:01 am

  3. Mmm baking! And creative remedies sounds right up my street, although I can’t seem to get on with the yoga teacher here so I hope yours is better! Mine is all “you have to take your jumper off or i will lose my yoga license” and pushes you into things you cant do! haha. Hope Dr G goes well xx

    thesunshinediaries

    Tuesday, 15th September 2009 at 3:51 pm


Leave a Reply

