Into the system…

blogging, work, mental health, therapy, disability, benefits and more…

No more driving…

with 5 comments

So today I finally got the letter. You may remember I had to notify the DVLA about my condition. My license has been revoked. I have to return my license in the next week and will not be able to reapply until I have been “stable” for at least three months. I may not have driven for a year now but it is different to know I don’t have a license. There is one benefit in that I can now get my free bus pass. I had to wait until I had proof of refusal before I could claim.

Today I was running a Rethink Tea Party. I barely slept all night worrying if we were going to raise anything. The first hour or so was terrible. We barely sold anything, but things picked up when we went for a wander around the village to sell some of our cakes. In the end we managed to raise over £180, which was great. I’m so relieved!

Written by intothesystem

Saturday, 3rd October 2009 at 4:59 pm

5 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Hooray for free bus passes as Emma says! I so wanted to take driving lessons this year but the promazine side effects makes it near impossible for me drive, I so half asleep most of the day with it…

    The tea party sounded like fun and you certainly did well raising the amount of money you did!

    Alison

    Sunday, 4th October 2009 at 6:39 pm

  2. Well done on the tea party and I hope you get stable enough to drive soon… well instantly really. I know that’s a long shot, but I just wanted to say something positive.

    karenintheory

    Monday, 5th October 2009 at 1:07 pm

  3. Well done on the tea party (: ! And free things are always good, right? xx

    thesunshinediaries

    Thursday, 8th October 2009 at 6:40 pm

  4. I sympathise with you,I have had my licence taken away a couple of times even though my driving is without a blemish. Until the licence is reissued dont upset your psychiatrist and keep in mind that they and the dvla are slow with the paperwork when your time is up. If they are not ready keep in mind that your GP can give the OK to drive.
    And the bus pass is for keeps.

    bipolarbearbump

    Thursday, 8th October 2009 at 11:10 pm

  5. Hi there, I was looking through your site and enjoyed reading through it! I have a similar site, and was wondering if you were interested in doing a blogroll exchange? My site is http://www.bipolarmedicationguide.com – Thanks in advance! *Stefanie Madyco*

    michaud42

    Tuesday, 13th October 2009 at 4:53 am


Leave a Reply

