Into the system…

blogging, work, mental health, therapy, disability, benefits and more…

Blogging Twit…

with 3 comments

Blogging seems to have been replaced by twitter lately. I can just about manage 140 characters at the moment, but proper blog posts are a little hard. Hence the fact I’m writing about twitter, rather than how I actually feel.

I don’t know how I feel about twitter.

When it first appeared on the scene a few years ago, I wasn’t sure about it and decided I spent enough time on Facebook. I didn’t need another site to absorb my time.

Then all of a sudden it was the next big thing and I wanted to avoid it because of the hype. I am generally adverse to hype. If a band is hyped to death I usually avoid them and the same applies to websites! I also got annoyed at the way it suddenly became this brand of innovation or a fashion statement. Join twitter and show how cool you are! I hated the celebrity culture that became attached to it too. All of this meant I pretty much avoided it like the plague and didn’t want anything to do with it.

But I’ve found that I often have things I want to add to this blog and I just don’t have the time. I thought about setting up some asides (a la Matt @ WordPress), so I can update when I have little time or if I am unable to find the words. In the end though it seemed easier to use Twitter with the WordPress widget. Add a small dose of peer-pressure to the mix and I capitulated. I think I signed up under this account in April. I don’t have a personal account and don’t think I ever will. I guess Facebook still serves a purpose for staying in touch with friends.

I barely used twitter at all in the first few months. I signed up whilst I was still in The Priory as I thought I might be able to keep things updated on my phone. Easier than typing full posts on the little qwerty keyboard of an E71. I kept forgetting twitter was there though and the arrival of a netbook meant I could update here instead.

Suddenly though over the past month my tweets have increased in frequency fairly rapidly and now I’m using it every day. I don’t know what brought about the change. Funny that my twitter frequency has increased inversely to my mood. Wonder if there is anything in that?

I guess you come around to most things in the end though. I resisted for a while but a surrender was always coming.

I seem to be collecting followers and readers now too, which is nice. I felt honoured yesterday that @MarkOneInFour plugged this blog on twitter and I certainly seem to have picked up some followers through that.

Anyway I don’t know where this is going really. I just started writing and before I knew it there was a post. I know I’m really writing this to avoid writing about how things are. They’re crap btw.

So if you ended up here through twitter. Hi!

Edit:
p.s. I seem to have developed a tic with the word “just”. I’ve just (argh!) edited out a million from this post. Maybe I can start a new trend and it will replace the awful use of the word “like” that teenagers seem to love so much these days.

p.p.s. The original version of this was rubbish! Full of mistakes and the aforementioned “just”s. A little editing was in order. I guess the (lack of) quality of writing shows how bad my concentration is right now.

Written by intothesystem

Monday, 7th December 2009 at 5:47 pm

3 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. It’s great that Mark @ OneinFour mentioned you on Twitter… I was only reading the magazine last week on the bus… it’s a really good free magazine! There was so much in there I found interesting!

    I tend to find I use Twitter more than FB, it’s more streamlined so I prefer it! Or maybe I’m just getting old and boring!

    Alison

    Monday, 7th December 2009 at 6:55 pm

  2. Sorry things are crap, honey. Hope they improve soon.

    Re. Twitter, I actually joined it a while back, and very quickly realised I couldn’t cope with the pressure. God, 140 characters and you can’t thing of ANYTHING funny/insightful or even mundane to write! Aaaaaaaargh! It became another stick to beat myself with, so I deleted my account after about 3 days. Fickle, me? Moi? Surely not!

    Karita

    Monday, 7th December 2009 at 10:03 pm

  3. I love and hate twitter. I don’t love and defintiely hate your mood. You deserve happiness, regardless of what you or your illness thinks. I want to kick bipolar’s arse with steel top capped boots on.

    Anyway, we’re talking about twitter, not your mood…

    Take care lovelyx

    eccedentesiast

    Monday, 7th December 2009 at 10:09 pm


Leave a Reply

